In the penultimate gameweek of the Premier League season, I decided to use my bench boost, seeing as most teams were playing twice.  However, it would seem that I was by no means the only one as my score was still only five points above the average.  86 points would normally be a great score but, all things considered, I had hoped for better.  Here is how my players got on:

IMG_0449.PNG

Fraser Forster – An eight point haul was pretty much what I expected, but the surprising thing was that Southampton kept a clean sheet against Manchester United but conceded against Middlesbrough.
Eldin Jakupović – The Hull goalkeeper conceded four times against Crystal Palace, adding absolutely nothing to my score.
Marcos Alonso – Alonso kept a clean sheet and picked up two bonus points as Chelsea secured the title against West Brom, but didn’t feature against Watford so added eight points to my tally.
Ben Davies – Davies got two assists and a bonus point over Spurs’ two matches, adding a very respectable eleven points to my total.
Rob Holding – The Arsenal defender benefitted from the clean sheet against Sunderland but picked up a booking against Stoke, so his seven point haul was somewhat average.
Robert Huth – Despite the fact that Leicester played twice over the gameweek, Huth didn’t play a single minute, thus returning zero points.
Vincent Kompany – The Belgian picked up a booking when City played Leicester, but was substituted before they conceded against West Brom, meaning he still got the clean sheet bonus.
Josh King – Bournemouth only played once this week, but King scored and picked up two bonus points so was a major contributor to my total.
Eden Hazard – Despite starting both matches for Chelsea, Hazard failed to register either a goal or an assist so was a fairly underwhelming captain choice.
Nathan Redmond – Redmond only came on at half-time against Middlesbrough but still managed to score, while he added a clean sheet point to my total against Manchester United.
Christian Eriksen – Eriksen claimed an assist and all three bonus points against Manchester United but didn’t feature against Leicester so couldn’t add to his tally of eight points.
Roberto Firmino – Firmino missed out for Liverpool through injury this week and so could not benefit from the 4-0 victory over West Ham.
Divock Origi – Origi scored against West Ham so added a useful six points to my score despite only playing once.
Romelu Lukaku – The annoying thing about Lukaku is he tends to go off the boil and go through dry patches.  The even more annoying thing is that, now I’ve said that, he’ll score a hat-trick next week.
Manolo Gabbiadini – The Southampton striker didn’t have the best week, failing to make the squad for the match against Middlesbrough and missing a penalty against Manchester United.

Unfortunately my hopes of making it into the top half a million players have all but evaporated and I have moved down the league tables, but I still have my triple captain to use in the final games of the season so hopefully I can go out on a high.  This is the team I am picking for gameweek 38:

IMG_0450.PNG

