Gameweek 30 saw me recover reasonably well from my setbacks of the last couple of weeks, as I got above the average score.  My points haul of 48 was just eight points above average, but it was still very useful in helping to boost me up the league tables in my quest to get into the top half a million players.  Here is how my team got on:

IMG_0369.PNG

Ben Foster – Foster chipped in with a useful clean sheet for West Brom against Manchester United, giving me seven very unexpected points.
Federico Fernández – The Swansea defender earned me  very good clean sheet bonus when the Swans drew 0-0 with Middlesbrough at the Liberty Stadium.
Erik Pieters – Pieters’ Stoke side were defeated 2-0 by a resurgent Leicester meaning Pieters returned just a single point.
Ben Gibson – I have to admit, I got very lucky with Gibson this week as, for some reason, he ended up being my vice captain and Troy Deeney played no part for Watford so Gibson’s eight points ended up being doubled for me!
Robert Huth – I transferred Huth into my team this week after Leicester’s recent upturn in form, and he rewarded me with a clean sheet against Stoke.
Ben Mee – Mee came into my side this week due to Deeney not playing, so it is no real surprise that he could only return one point against Tottenham.
Roberto Firmino – Firmino continued his good recent form with an assist in the Merseyside derby, meaning five points were added to my score.
Alexis Sánchez – Whenever Arsenal score I half expect Sánchez to have played some part, so it was mildly disappointing that he drew a blank at the weekend despite Arsenal scoring two against Manchester City.
Raheem Sterling – Sterling was substituted at half-time for Manchester City against Arsenal so he could add just one solitary point to my total.
Romelu Lukaku – Lukaku was another who I brought into my team this week after his prolific form in front of goal, but he failed to score or assist in the Merseyside derby on Saturday.
Diego Costa – Costa came close to scoring on a couple of occasions in Chelsea’s shock 2-1 defeat to Crystal Palace, but was denied a couple of times by Wayne Hennessey and also picked up a booking so his score for this week was just one point.

My gameweek score was good enough to be getting on with but ideally I want to be beating the average score by more as the season nears its end.  It is fair to say that I relied rather heavily on my defence this week and I will need to ensure that my attacking players can contribute more to the score in future weeks and that I don’t need to rely on the likes of Ben Gibson.  I don’t have long to wait until the next gameweek, as there is a midweek set of fixtures this week so hopefully my players can put in another good score to boost me up the table.  Here is my team for the midweek fixtures:

IMG_0370.PNG

