Gameweek 26 was another week of progress for me in the world of fantasy football, as my team moved up into the top 800,000 players and scored above the average by 19 points.  64 points will be a decent total in any week, but it is particularly impressive when several of the league’s top teams weren’t playing.  Here is how my players got on this week:

IMG_0330.PNG

Ben Foster – Another good performance from the West Brom ‘keeper helped them to a 2-1 win over Bournemouth, but unfortunately Foster could not return the clean sheet points this week.
Ben Gibson – Gibson is a player I would have expected to keep a clean sheet this week as Middlesbrough played Crystal Palace, but a Patrick Van Aanholt goal ensured that wasn’t the case.
Ramiro Funes Mori – The Everton defender has been a good source of points lately and returned yet another clean sheet this week, as well as a bonus point.
Ben Mee – The relegation six-pointer between Hull and Burnley finished 1-1, meaning Mee couldn’t return what would have been a useful clean sheet bonus.
José Holebas – Watford and West Ham also had to settle for a 1-1 draw, and a booking meant that Holebas returned just one point.
Michail Antonio – Antonio assisted West Ham’s goal and looked set to return at least five points, but a red card with five minutes to go robbed me of his contribution.
Roberto Firmino – It’s always a bit of risk having Liverpool players, as they often just don’t turn up to matches.  This was the case when Liverpool played struggling Leicester, so I regret making Firmino my captain.
Ryan Fraser – Fraser had a great game on the left wing for Bournemouth, assisting their goal and securing all three bonus points, returning a sound eight points.
Harry Kane – I was so close to making Kane my captain for Tottenham’s match against Stoke so my emotions were mixed when he scored a hat-trick, meaning I could have bagged myself an extra 18 points if I had gone through with it.
Diego Costa – Costa continued his consistent form with another goal when Chelsea played Swansea, earning me six useful points.
Troy Deeney – Deeney has been in fine form of late, scoring Watford’s goal against West Ham and claiming all three bonus points to make a solid contribution to my total.

This week has to go down as a success, but it could have been so much more…  If only I had captained Kane I might have moved even closer to my target of getting inside the top 500,000, but it wasn’t to be.  However, with a few more strong showings such as that I should be getting very near the top half a million.  Here is my team for next week:

IMG_0329.PNG

