This week was a very disappointing one, and my score of 35 was well below par in the end.  Even if I had captained my highest point scorer I would still have been a substantial way below the average so I can’t even blame my failure on Harry Kane although he certainly didn’t help!)  Ben Mee was on my bench unfortunately, so his seven points for scoring against Manchester City weren’t added to my score.  Here is a look at how I got on:

img_0280

Fraser Forster – Another poor performance from the Saints left Fraser Forster with just two points after conceding twice at Goodison Park.
José Holebas – Watford are another team to have gone off the boil in recent weeks and conceding two goals to Stoke is hardly going to push me up the league tables!
Ben Gibson – A clean sheet against the reigning champions is not to be sniffed at and Gibson returned a valuable five points.
Ramiro Funes Mori – Funes Mori was restored to the starting eleven for Everton and instantly made an impact as he helped them to a clean sheet and a 3-0 win.
Jesse Lingard – Lingard was due to be on my bench but came in for Özil, who was ill once again.  Lingard was substituted on 59 minutes, presumably because Mourinho thought it would be funny to rob me of a point for playing an hour.
Alexis Sánchez – Sánchez was the only player in my starting eleven to score a goal and reasserted his value to my squad.
Kevin Mirallas – Unfortunately Mirallas had no part in any of Everton’s three goals, but at least he returned a clean sheet point.
Michail Antonio – Antonio unsurprisingly failed to make an impact in West Ham’s 2-0 defeat at the hands of Manchester United.
Harry Kane – I predicted that Chelsea’s winning run would come to an end at White Hart Lane, but unfortunately Kane himself had a quiet game and was ultimately a poor captain choice.
Diego Costa – Costa was kept very quiet by the Spurs defence and failed to make any real impact on the match.
Troy Deeney – Deeney scored his 100th goal for Watford last week and I thought it might be the start of a scoring run, but he failed to take any chances against Stoke.

I badly need a good week if I am to get into the top million players any time soon.  After the recent fixture congestion there is now a break from Premier League action for the FA Cup third round to take place.  Maybe my poor week was down to my players being fatigued after the Christmas period?  That’s what I’m putting it down to, anyway…  Hopefully my team will fare far better in gameweek 21 and I can finally make my push up the table.  Here is my first draft for my next team:

IMG_0281.PNG

