The Boxing Day fixtures weren’t really anything to write home about as far as my fantasy team was concerned, as my score of 47 points was a meagre three above the average and keeps me fairly stationary in the overall standings.  My score was decent, if unremarkable, and I will hope to do at least as well in the next round of matches.  Here’s where my points were won and lost:

 

img_0259

Fraser Forster – Forster conceded four against tottenham last night, which begs the question of whether I should have started him.  But with Pickford’s Sunderland travelling to Old Trafford I wrongly predicted that Forster would return more points.
Ben Mee – Burnley scraped a 1-0 win over Middlesbrough which could prove to be vital for their hopes of staying up and, more importantly, got me a clean sheet bonus.
Ben Gibson – Gibson failed to keep a clean sheet in Boro’s match against Burnley, but I’m happy with the combined eight points from the two players playing in that match.
José Holebas – I thought there might be a clean sheet on the way for Holebas, but Watford conceded against a poor Crystal Palace side.
Alexis Sánchez – Sánchez has gone a couple of weeks without delivering a big score, so hopefully he is due another great performance.
Mesut Özil – An assist against West Brom saw Özil return his first significant score since I transferred him in, so hopefully he will go on a point scoring run now.
Jesse Lingard – With United hosting Sunderland, goals were always on the cards and I took the gamble of making Lingard captain.  Unfortunately it didn’t pay off and he returned a miserly six points.
Michail Antonio – Antonio has a good goalscoring record and proved it again as he scored in West Ham’s victory over Swansea.
Nacer Chadli – Chadli has been unable to recreate his form since his injury, but hopefully will get back up to speed fairly soon.
Harry Kane – Kane scored his first goal since I brought him into my team but then missed a penalty to throw away two points.  At least he is on the score sheet though and will hopefully become a valuable asset.
Troy Deeney – Deeney finally scored his 100th goal for watford when he scored against Crystal Palace.  Hopefully he will go on to be free scoring now he has broken that barrier.

With games coming thick and fast in the coming days I have a chance of getting an advantage over the rest of the fantasy football world if I play my cards right.  With the second wildcard becoming available in January as well I really need to make the most of the opportunity to move up the table.  Here is my first draft for my team for gameweek 19:

img_0261

 

