Unfortunately it looks as is my Christmas wish of being in the top million players on fantasy football is not going to come true.  After a string of good weeks which made me thought it was possible, I have now been below average two weeks in a row.  My 39-point haul was not good enough to push me up the table, with the average score being 47.  This is mainly down to my poor choice of captain, as Harry Kane has now let me down with armband twice in a row.  Here’s how I got on:

TIMG_0253.PNG

Fraser Forster – Forster managed just three points, which was made even more frustrating by the fact that Jordan Pickford had eight point on my bench.
Simon Francis – Francis could muster just a single point as Bournemouth conceded two against Southampton.
José Holebas – Holebas really didn’t live up to my expectations this week as he failed to keep a clean sheet against Sunderland.
Ben Gibson – Gibson was one of my few players who ended up doing well for me this week, as he picked up a clean sheet and two bonus points in Middlesbrough’s 3-0 thrashing of Swansea.
Erik Pieters – When Jamie Vardy was sent off and Stoke were 2-0 up, I could see no other outcome but a Pieters clean sheet.  However, his side shipped two late goals which, added to his yellow card, returned Pieters exactly zero points.
Mesut Özil – From his lofty price one might imagine that the German would be a consistent point scorer, but he is yet to register either a goal or an assist since I transferred him in.
Alexis Sánchez – Sánchez chipped in with another assist when Arsenal played Manchester City to reassert his value.
Michail Antonio – Antonio is a new addition to my team, and did well this week to get an assist as well as a clean sheet bonus to add six points to my total.
Harry Kane – For the second week running I gave Kane the armband and he returned just two points.  As far as I know he has one more week to impress or he will be instantly replaced.
Diego Costa – Costa showed his value yet again with a goal, but unfortunately picked up his fifth yellow card of the season, meaning he will be suspended for Chelsea’s Boxing Day fixture.
Troy Deeney – Deeney remains stuck on 99 goals for Watford, and the frustrating thing is that I know he will score as soon as I take him out of my team.

So, all in all a very disappointing week.  However, there will be lots of fantasy football over the coming days as the busy Christmas period gets underway so I will have to make up for my drop in form then.  Here is my first draft for the my team for the Boxing Day games:

IMG_0254.PNG

