I did not beat the average score by as much as I did last week, but at least my tally of 54 points was enough to push me further towards the top million.  This week I couldn’t rely on a stalwart performance from Alexis Sánchez so it was far more of a team effort to make the week a success for me.  Here is how I got on:

IMG_0237.PNG

Fraser Forster – After his dreadful mistake last week Forster recovered to earn a clean sheet and the six points that come with it.
Simon Francis – A rare contribution at the attacking end of the pitch saw Francis earn an assist and two bonus points.  Considering Bournemouth conceded three goals at Turf Moor, Francis didn’t do too badly at all.
Ben Mee – Mee also got an assist in the Burnley match, ensuring that he returned me four points despite conceding two goals.
Ben Gibson – Gibson was part of the Middlesbrough side which went down by a goal to nil against Southampton, earning an unremarkable two points.
José Holebas – Holebas went one step further than Mee and Francis by setting up two goals for Watford against Everton.  Somehow my defence earned me 19 points without a single player keeping a clean sheet!
Alexis Sánchez – Sánchez was unable to recreate his heroic hat-trick of the week before, but chipped in with an assist for Arsenal to keep his personal points tally ticking over.
James Milner – As a budget option who tends to feature at left-back, Milner never likely to be my highest points scorer, and that proved to be the case this week as Liverpool drew 2-2 with West Ham.
Xherdan Shaqiri – Shaqiri is still yet to contribute meaningfully to my team, and his chances may be running out to do so.
Harry Kane – I brought in Kane as a direct replacement for Agüero for the duration of his suspension at least.  Unfortunately I was choosing between Kane and Christian Benteke and the Belgian scored whereas Kane drew a blank.
Diego Costa – Another good showing from Costa saw him gain a goal and two bonus points as he captained my team this week.  From being a liability he is fast becoming my most reliable option in attack.
Troy Deeney – Deeney has been stuck on 99 goals for Watford for what seems like an eternity.  One thing that is for sure, is that as soon as I put him on my bench he will reach the hundred mark with a man of the match performance!

As a special treat for fantasy football fans, this week there is a midweek set of matches!  While it is not a double gameweek, it still presents a good opportunity to gain an advantage over those who have forgotten to change their team since the weekend.  Here is the side I am trusting to put me into the top million this week:

IMG_0238.PNG

