In the 14th week of this season’s Fantasy Premier League, I have recorded my best score since last season.  I recorded 83 points, and with the average being 50, it’s fair to say the week was an unqualified success.  Here is a look at how I got on:

IMG_0226.PNG

Fraser Forster – The Southampton ‘keeper failed to get a clean sheet, and in fact contributed to Crystal Palace’s win over them with an embarrassing mistake.  Fortunately no points are deducted for giving away goals!
Ben Mee – It is never a massive surprise when Burnley fail to keep a clean sheet so I wasn’t too disappointed when they lots 2-0 to Stoke this week.
Ben Gibson – A clean sheet, two bonus points, and a perfectly timed goal-saving tackle made sure Gibson was a valuable member of my side this week against Hull.
Erik Pieters – Pieters was part of the Stoke side who beat Burnley 2-0, so six more valuable points were added to my score.
Alexis Sánchez – Sánchez was, to put it mildly, an inspired choice as captain this week.  A hat-trick from midfield, an assist for Mesut Özil’s goal, and three bonus points returned me a hefty 46 points and was a big reason I did so well this week.
Nacer Chadli – Chadli is still on his way back from injury and wasn’t deemed fit enough to start by Walter Mazzari so only picked up one solitary point when he came on.
James Milner – Despite playing as a defender in a game where Liverpool conceded four, the fact Milner is classified as a midfielder played in my favour as he did not have any points deducted.
Xherdan Shaqiri – The Swiss midfielder has still not delivered the points return I was expecting of him but hopefully that will soon change.
Troy Deeney – Deeney came in off the bench when Juan Mata once again failed to get on the pitch for Manchester United’s game against Everton and recorded an assist for me.
Sergio Agüero – Agüero was my second choice for captain so I am very relieved that I went with my gut!  He was shown a red card for a horror tackle on David Luiz so I will have to consider whether or not to take him out of my team for his four match ban.
Diego Costa – A truly majestic performance from the Spaniard returned 12 points against Manchester City.  A goal, an assist and three bonus points are the least he deserved.

I finally seem to be getting my season back on track and a few more performances like that will see me rise up the league table once again.  At present as I am sitting just outside the top million and a half so the next aim has to be to get into the top half.  The team I am hoping to get me closer to doing so next week is pictured below:

IMG_0227.PNG

