After an absolutely shocking week last time around when I thought my season had reached the point of no return, I have come back with my best week of the season so far.  The average itself was very high this week at 58 points, but I managed to get 18 points above that figure with 76 points.  This was mainly down to my captain choice which, for once, was spot-on.  Sergio Agüero had gone several weeks without a significant score and I just had a sneaky feeling that he would really come into his own against West Brom so gave him the armband.  He repaid my faith in style with two goals and an assist to get my gameweek well and truly underway.  Here is an overview of my team this week:

IMG_0184.PNG

Steve Mandana – At some point this season, my goalkeeper will get a clean sheet.  One day it will happen.  Trust me.  Not today, but one day.
Simon Francis – Middlesbrough managed to put two past Bournemouth so Francis could only return me a miserly one point, but I also had Ben Gibson so I wasn’t too disappointed with the result.
José Holebas – Holebas has been reliable for me of late, and picked up yet another clean sheet for Watford against Hull.  For his price he is a very useful asset.
Ben Gibson – Gibson is a mainstay at the centre of the Middlesbrough defence, and earned me some useful clean sheet points against Bournemouth this weekend.
Erik Pieters – It was slightly disappointing that Wayne Routledge’s eighth minute header robbed Pieters of a clean sheet, but his overall performance against Mo Barrow encouraged me that Stoke could be a valuable source of clean sheet points.  A yellow card for a loss of concentration also led to a one point deduction.
Juan Mata – I was planning on taking Mata out but his performance in midweek in the Manchester derby convinced me to keep him in for another week.  He almost rewarded me with some points as well, but Tom Heaton was in inspired form in the Burnley goal.  Antonio Valencia was originally meant to be in my side over Mata but underwent arm surgery meaning he didn’t play.
Alexis Sánchez – Sánchez was another of my players who excelled this week, scoring a brace against a very poor Sunderland team.  It will be interesting to see whether he retains his place up front or moves back into midfield on the return to action of Olivier Giroud, who also scored a brace.
Raheem Sterling – Sterling failed to weigh in with any goals or assists again and I am starting to wonder whether his time as a fantasy football must-have is over since Manchester City switched to a three at the back system.
Sergio Agüero – The Manchester City striker scored twice, assisted once, and picked up three bonus points to get me 32 points as captain.  His poor run of form also meant that many people transferred him out this week so I was extra pleased that I cashed in on the points!
Diego Costa – Costa remains one of my leading points-scorers, as he scored once again for Chelsea against Southampton.  I know that he will get sent off for me at some point, but it is worth it for all the goals he scores for me.
Troy Deeney – Deeney was a possible captain choice for me, so I am very relieved that I opted for Agüero instead!  I was disappointed  that he couldn’t get any goals or assists against a leaky Hull defence and will see whether he does enough to stay in my team in the coming weeks.

My inconsistent form so far this season would suggest that I’m in for a horrific points haul next week, but I’m going to remain optimistic that I can use this week as the start of a push back to the top half of the table.  Here is my first draft for next week:

IMG_0185.PNG

