It seems that I managed to jinx myself spectacularly last week in saying that I had finally sorted my team out. Somehow I managed to get just 21 points in gameweek 9, which must surely be my lowest ever return from a week. The average score was 42 points so I was more than 20 below that, and I even managed to get fewer than when I took a 20 point deduction a couple of weeks ago! Well, we may as well get this over with – here is a look at how I did:

IMG_0172.PNG

Steve Mandanda – Crystal Palace once again failed to keep a clean sheet, meaning I was left with a single point from my goalkeeper.
José Holebas – My defenders actually had a pretty good week. It’s just a shame that I opted for three at the back and left 15 points on my bench!
Antonio Valencia – After Manchester United’s gritty defensive display against Liverpool, few would have expected them to capitulate at Stamford Bridge and concede four. However, they did nonetheless and Valencia drew a blank.
Erik Pieters – Pieters was the player I transferred in this week so it was pleasing to see him keep a clean sheet.
Alexis Sánchez – Sánchez came close to scoring with a free kick, but ultimately he proved a disappointing captain choice, reflecting the general feel of my team.
Nacer Chadli – Chadli has been in inspired form recently, but unfortunately he was unable to come up with the goods against Liverpool this weekend.
Raheem Sterling – Sterling is a member of the Manchester City side which is in shaky form at the moment. Hopefully they can recover soon and Sterling can go back to being a valuable source of points.
Juan Mata – It was probably a mistake to transfer in Mata last week. He is out of favour at Manchester United, who are playing very conservative football anyway so he is not going to pick up many points in the near future.
Sergio Agüero – Agüero has failed to come up with a good points return for three consecutive weeks. For most players, this would be unremarkable, but for a player who costs £13 million it is worth monitoring his situation.
Diego Costa – I would have expected Costa to get a ripe points return when Chelsea put four past Manchester United, but unfortunately he wasn’t involved in a single goal.
Troy Deeney – Deeney is another who was unable to get any goals or assists for me this weekend. I will persevere with him for now but may have to transfer him out soon.

Hopefully this week was just a one-off and I will get far better scores in future. Here is the first draft for my team next week:

img_0174

