After a run of below average weeks, I think I may just have sorted my team out. My 20 point transfer deduction last week meant that I couldn’t realistically get a good score, but this week my points tally of 53 was 14 points above the average score of 39. That was in addition to having Nacer Chadli on the bench who would have earned me 10 points if he had been starting. I now sit just outside the top 2 million which, while being far from ideal, gives me a platform to push myself into the top half soon. Here is a look in detail at my gameweek:

IMG_0150.PNG
Steve Mandanda – The goalkeeper position rarely earns me very many points due to the budget players I tend to use there so it is no surprise that neither Mandanda nor Pickford was able to secure a clean sheet this week.
Simon Francis – Remarkably, although Bournemouth didn’t keep a clean sheet against Hull, Francis was their only defender not to either score or assist. Cook, Daniels, and Smith all got extra points, but unfortunately Francis could only return me a meagre two points.
Ben Gibson – Middlesbrough were robbed of a clean sheet against Watford by José Holebas’ goal but, seeing as I own Holebas, I am happy with that outcome.
José Holebas – I brought Holebas into my team in the hope that he would pose a threat going forward from his position at left wing-back and, fortunately, that happened this week with a goal that earned me 15 points.
Antonio Valencia – Valencia was originally on my bench, but as Juan Mata did not play for Manchester United against Liverpool, Valencia’s 7 points count towards my score.
Alexis Sánchez – Sánchez was the obvious choice for captain this week due to his good form and Swansea’s defensive vulnerabilities, but while a five point haul is not to be sniffed at, it is not quite as good as I was hoping for.
Raheem Sterling – Sterling has been brilliant for me since I put him in my team so it is not unreasonable to expect a couple of disappointing weeks. This week he was not helped by being played as a wing-back against Everton, so I hope that is not his long term role.
Jason Puncheon – The Crystal Palace man failed to make an impact against West Ham but remains a good option for his price. I am hoping for more successful outings from him in future.
Sergio Agüero – Agüero endured an interesting match against Everton to say the least! He spent an hour on the substitute bench before coming on and missing a penalty. Although this got me a point deduction, I don’t mind too much as so many people own Agüero and many of them captained him.
Diego Costa – Costa score prediction yet another goal for me this week, this time against Leicester. He has been by far my most reliable player since the start of the season, and my only worry is that he will pick up a needless suspension, being one yellow card away from a one match ban.
Troy Deeney – Deeney couldn’t get on the score sheet against Middlesbrough which was slightly disappointing, but I remain hopeful that he will be a valuable asset in future. This week I wish I had selected Chadli instead of him, however!

Here is a look at my team for next weekend. Hopefully I can continue my push up the league table.

IMG_0151.PNG

