Despite falling even further down the rankings, I am content with my points haul this week. I took a 20-point hit in order to make six changes to my team so, in all honesty, the week was always going to be a write-off. However, if you don’t count the deduction, I performed above average, getting 44 points when the average score was 42. On top of that, I also had Troy Deeney and Jordan Pickford on my bench, who got a combined 15 points which didn’t count towards my score. Here is a look out how my players did:

IMG_0129.PNG

Steve Mandana – Typically, the first week in ages when I have benched Pickford, he’s gone and got six points. Mandanda, on the other hand, only conceded once which is better than it could have been.
Simon Francis – After last week’s shut-out against Everton, I thought the Cherries might be able to hold watford’s strikers. Therefore, I went for Francis over Deeney, thus losing myself nine points.
José Holebas – Although Watford conceded two to Bournemouth, Holebas weighed in for me with an assist and two bonus points, which were much appreciated.
Antonio Valencia – The normally reliable defender ended up being one of my biggest disappointments of the week. Joe Allen and a yellow card were all that stood between him and a clean sheet.
Ben Gibson – I fancied West Ham to continue their poor form, and was right on that account. Unfortunately I did not foresee Dimitri Payet salvaging a point for the Hammers with a solo wonder goal.
Raheem Sterling – I thought Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City bubble might burst at White Hart Lane, which was why I put Sterling on the bench. Unfortunately, Brendan Galloway was too ill to play for West Brom so Sterling came in for him. It was especially frustrating as Deeney was my second substitute!
Ross Barkley – I can hardly remember the last time Barkley got a decent points return and I am very sceptical as to whether he is worth his £7.4m price tag.
Alexis Sánchez – Sánchez was the obvious choice to be captain against burnley, but despite striking the post, he was unable to score. He was involved in Arsenal’s eventual winner, but a touch by Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain meant that he wasn’t credited with the assist for Koscielny’s goal.
Nacer Chadli – Chadli is one of the few players I brought in who justified the points hit I took for them. Chadli is forming a formidable partnership with Salamon Rondón which will hopefully earn me many more points in the future.
Sergio Agüero – The Argentine striker drew a blank against Tottenham, but as he is owned by 43% of people and captained by many of those, I didn’t mind too much.
Diego Costa – I’m sure Costa must be my highest points scorer since the beginning of the season and is one of the players I am likely to keep in my side for the foreseeable future. Not only has he picked up even more points, but he has now gone three whole weeks without being booked for dissent!

Hopefully my team is sorted now and I will be able to rise up the leagues without taking any more sizable point hits. We go into an international break now, so there will be no Final Fantasy next week, but hopefully I can come back refreshed and get a big points haul! I know it is a while until the next gameweek, but here is my first draft for gameweek eight:

IMG_0130.PNG

