This week started brilliantly for me with Diego Costa netting against Liverpool, and when Raheem Sterling earned me 13 points, along with a Brendan Galloway point, I thought I was set for a very successful gameweek.  With 20 points and eight players still to play going into Sunday I was very optimistic.  However, none of my remaining eight players scored a goal, ensuring my final points tally was 45, which was below average.

I was only three points below the average score of 48 points, but it is still nowhere near good enough to push me up in the league.  I actually would have got 49 points, but I took a four point hit in order to get rid of some of the players who were not contributing to my scores.  Although the points hit meant that I was below average this week, I still think that it was worth it as it will stand me in better stead for the future, otherwise I would have four or five players each week who weren’t starting for their clubs.  I will have to do another minus four this coming week, but after that I should be set until the January wildcard.

Here is a look at my team this week:

image.png

Jordan Pickford – I had the choice between Sunderland’s goalkeeper against Tottenham and Hull’s keeper against Arsenal, so I did not expect to get a great points return from my keeper.  Little did I know, Eldin Jakupović not only started ahead of David Marshall but saved a penalty, winning seven points!
José Holebas – Holebas is one of the players I transferred in this week, and is an attractive choice as he is being played as a wing back.  However, a yellow card and a goal conceded against Manchester United meant he only got me one point.
Brendan Galloway – Galloway is the other player I brought in this week, but two goals for West Ham meant he only got one point.
Antonio Valencia – I was quite lucky with Valencia as, although United conceded three against Watford, the Ecuadorian was substituted after 61 minutes when they had only conceded one, so didn’t get a points deduction.
Erik Lamela – Despite having a great start to the season, Lamela has been dropped from the Spurs lineup for the last two weeks.  Son Heung-Min has come in and won man of the match in both those games, so Lamela may struggle to get his place back.
Raheem Sterling – Sterling was, once again, my highest points scorer and I can have no complaints with his return of 13 points.  I was considering putting him as my captain, so it is slightly frustrating from that point of view, but oh well!
Ross Barkley – After he was substituted at half-time against Sunderland, I was slightly worried that Barkley wouldn’t start this week, but he played the whole 90 minutes.  Having said that, he didn’t actually do anything worthy of points during the match.
Nathan Redmond – Redmond has been disappointing since the first week, and he is another I will have to think about transferring out once I have 15 players who start every week.
Zlatan Ibrahimović – The Swede is a reliable source of points and, although he didn’t score this week, he assisted Rashford’s goal which earned me ten points as my captain.
Wilfried Bony – Stoke were absolutely dismal and I am worried about Bony.  Agüero is back from suspension for next gameweek, so if Bony doesn’t register some points I may have to replace him.
Diego Costa – Costa got me off to a great start when he scored for Chelsea against Liverpool, and didn’t even get booked for dissent!

 

Next week I will be trying to get an above average points tally for the first time in a couple of weeks.  I have already made two transfers, and am thinking about getting rid of Matt Targett, which would mean that all 15 of my players play regularly for their clubs.  I will need to monitor the Lamela situation as well to see if he can win back his starting place.  Here is my first draft for next week:

image

