After an encouraging week in gameweek three where I saw myself fly up in the table with a score of 53 points, I thought my fantasy football season was finally back on track and that I would soon be making my way into the upper reaches of the league table.  However, my hopes have taken another blow in gameweek four after another below average week.

My score of 39 points was only four points below average, but average is not going to elevate me up the league tables.  I still sit outside the top 1.5 million and, having used my wildcard, am wondering what I must do to change that.  In truth, I was slightly lucky to even achieve what I did, with Diego Costa’s brace for Chelsea against Swansea being the only thing which stopped by score from being an embarrassment.

Poor captain choices have been what has cost me this season in the most part, so it is relieving to finally get it right – even if it is just about the only thing I got right this week.  It is obvious from looking at my team where my problem lies; the defence.  Only one of my five defenders played a single minute this week, meaning I was down to nine men against the eleven of everybody else.  Here is an overview of my gameweek:

image

Jordan Pickford – Pickford made some good saves against a rampant Everton attack, which got him an extra two points.  However, conceding three meant that he also lost a point.
Pape Souaré – In fairness, it was not really my fault that I kept Souaré in my team as nobody could have foreseen that he would be seriously injured in a car accident and airlifted to hospital.  I will make sure I transfer him out this week.
Mason Holgate – I can make no excuses on this occasion.  It simply slipped my mind that Holgate only played because Seamus Coleman was injured and that he would be dropped immediately on the return of the Irish international.  Holgate is another who I need to try and invalid out of my squad.
Antonio Valencia – It is testimony to my poor defensive selection that my highest scoring defender picked up just one point.  He is somebody who can often be relied upon to pick up clean sheets and assists, however, so I will be keeping him in my team for the nonce.
Erik Lamela – Lamela was another absentee from the starting lineup for his club this week, which I found surprising considering his recent good form.  With Son Heung-Min scoring a brace on his return from the Olympics, I may have to prepare myself for Lamela to have a lengthy spell on the bench.
Raheem Sterling – The Fantasy Premier League gods thought they would humiliate me further by ensuring that Sterling was substituted on 59 minutes and 53 seconds.  If he had lasted another seven seconds on the pitch I would have gained an extra point, but life is full of disappointments…
Ross Barkley – Although Barkley started for Everton against Sunderland, he was withdrawn at half-time, earning me just one solitary point.  He was a player I had an inkling might put in a great performance, but I can’t be right every time.
Gökhan Töre – Töre was axed from the starting lineup in favour of Dimitri Payet who, in fairness, pulled off an outrageous piece of skill to assist a Michail Antonio goal.  However, I’m sure Töre would have done just as well if he had started.
Zlatan Ibrahimović – Ibrahimović was my only player other than Costa to actually do something other than simply play, so I can’t complain about his points haul but a yellow card saw him lose a point for me, meaning I only got a return of five points and no bonuses.
Wilfried Bony – Bony is a new signing at Stoke and I think he could get back to being as prolific as he was when he was at Swansea.  This week it didn’t happen for him, but I will persist until Agüero is back from suspension, at which point I will decide whether to keep Bony or splash out on the Argentinian.
Diego Costa – Despite picking up his customary yellow card and calls for him to be sent off, Costa delivered for me yet again.  My decision to captain him came off as it got me 24 points which is, embarrassingly, more than the whole rest of my team put together.  He is one player I have no intention of transferring out any time soon.

image

Next week I will have some difficult dilemmas, as I will have to try and find a way of getting eleven players who will start on the pitch at once.  I have already transferred out Pape Souaré, as it looks as if he will be out long term, but I still need to try and get rid of Matt Targett, Jonas Olsson, Erik Lamela, Gökhan Töre, and Mason Holgate out of my team.  I replaced Souaré with Watford’s Holebas, as Watford 3-5-2 system has seen him playing further forward, making him more likely to score and assist.  However, I don’t want to end up taking too big a points hit so I will have to tread carefully.  Here is my team as it stands:

 

